Me, Me, TV

26 Feb

A few exciting announcements this week. I’m going to be heading back to Yankee Magazine as senior lifestyle editor covering food, home, and garden. This is a really happy development. I was food editor at Yankee from 2002-2005 and it was one of the best work experiences of my life. The people are great, the setting is gorgeous (I’ll be working up in Dublin, NH once a week), and I love that Yankee tells stories that very few magazines tell. I’m also excited to be able to cover all of New England — lots of road trips ahead.

Second, I made my (brief) network TV debut last night. Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares came to town in December to remake Davide restaurant and they asked a group from Boston mag to come and weigh in on the remade menu (verdict: It was very good. Go check out the new Davide). We show up in the last 10 minutes or so.

Funny thing is, that’s not the only show that was in town that week. A few days later, Throwdown! with Bobby Flay came to Boston do a vegetable lasagna cook-off with Christine and Carla Pallotta of Nebo and they needed a couple of local judges. Donna Garlough, BMag’s food editor, wasn’t available so she sent them my way. My fellow judge was Marianne Esposito, host of Ciao Italia. I’ve watched her show for so many years—it was a treat to spend time with her and hear  stories of her travels to Italy and what it’s like to produce a show on PBS for so many years. I think the taping went well, but the producers had us do these staged introductory shots that are probably necessary for television but completely embarrassing. “Try to look intimidating!” they said as they panned the camera up my body like this was some sort of workout video. Oh my god, are you kidding? I tried to be tongue-in-cheek about it, but I’m sure I’ll just look like a complete goofball. So if you watch it, my apologies. This one airs on Wednesday at 8:30 on the Food Network.

And thus ends my one-week splash into the waters of television.

2 Responses to “Me, Me, TV”

  1. Kim Traverso March 2, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Saw you on Kitchen Nightmares. I did a double take when I saw the last name. I rarely see it. Are you originally from the bay?

    • Amy Traverso March 3, 2011 at 12:07 am #

      No, but I did live there for a couple of years and I know the Traversos in Santa Rosa. Turns out our families came from the same part of Italy (near Asti).

Leave a Reply

